Volunteering spirit on display for Rivers West District

By Matt Kelly
April 14, 2016 - 7:04am

The Rivers West District for Sport, Culture and Recreation celebrated its wealth of volunteers at a banquet for those who donate their time and effort in their communities.

"It's a big boost to anybody, and volunteers sometimes are hard to find, so we try to encourage volunteerism and we try to make sure we recognize the people who do step up and do a lot of volunteering,” said Cynthia Tymoruski, community development co-ordinator.

The event was held Wednesday, April 13 at the Don Ross Centre.

The volunteers offer their services in a wide variety of ways, including raising money for the places they live and work in.

"They spend a lot of time and they make a huge difference in their communities from fundraising, to just basic volunteering like fundraising to help with building or improving volunteering,” said Tymoruski.

Tymoruski added these current volunteers are also sowing the seeds for new volunteers to eventually take their place.

"They really are trying hard to bring in the young people so that there's a new generation of volunteers that are willing to step up in the future."

Rivers West is a non-profit organization, which makes the development of lottery-funded sport, culture and recreation programs possible in the district, which stretches from Meadow Lake down to Kyle and includes places like the Battlefords, Lloydminster and Biggar.


Award recipients:

Sport – Event: Skate Canada Sectional Championships presented to Skate Battlefords

Sport – Team: Battle River Horse Club

Culture – Development, Promotion & Community Achievement: St. Walburg Allied Arts Council

Culture – Development, Promotion & Community Achievement: Meota Lakeshore Lions Club

Culture – Artist of the Year: Rivers’ Edge Quilters (North Battleford)

Recreation – Professional of the Year: Gary Hamilton (Kindersley)

Recreation – Facility Renovation: Marsden Library

Recreation – New Build: Edam Community Centre

All Round Volunteer of the Year: Don Light (Battleford); Wayne Mock (Kerrobert); Heidi Hougham (Paradise Hill); Diane MacNab & Paulette Pavka (Mervin)


[email protected]

Twitter: @battlefordsnow 

Battleford and area hit by string of break-ins

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.