Familiar names considering race to replace Premier

By Sarah Mills/CJME News Staff
August 16, 2017 - 8:34am

While Tina Beaudry-Mellor is the first official candidate so far in the race to replace Brad Wall, there are likely many who will join her.

On Tuesday, two more stepped forward to confirm they’re giving the position a serious consideration.

“Certainly between my wife and I, and my family, we are giving fairly serious consideration to whether or not we will throw our hat in the ring,” Justice Minister Gord Wyant explained.

At the same time, Parks, Culture and Sport Minister Ken Cheveldayoff all but confirmed he will enter the race.

“I guess you could say I am 90-100 in right now,” Cheveldayoff confirmed. “I will be formalizing my team and making an announcement shortly.”

The two cabinet members join Jim Reiter, Kevin Doherty and Jeremy Harrison as those who are firmly in the maybe camp.

Energy and Resources Minister Dustin Duncan, who is on government business in New Brunswick, confirmed by telephone that he will not enter the race.

Duncan added with a very young family it was not a consideration.

It came on the same day that founding member of the Saskatchewan Party Bill Boyd announced he would retire from politics effective Sept.1, 2017.

Upon confirming their leadership bid, anyone sitting in cabinet must take a leave of absence and their duties will be given to another member of cabinet.

A cabinet shuffle is expected once all candidates have been declared.

At this point it isn’t clear when and where the leadership convention will be held. The provincial council of the Saskatchewan Party confirmed it will meet within the month to make a decision.

Trent Wotherspoon enters race for Sask. NDP leadership

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.