Two mayor candidates for Battleford, eight for council

By Matt Kelly
September 22, 2016 - 12:12pm

It’s a two candidate race for the mayor of Battleford with eight candidates looking to become a councillor.

Current town councillors David George and Ames Leslie have both submitted their papers to run for mayor by the nomination deadline at 4 p.m. on Wednesday Sept. 21.

Mayor Derek Mahon declared he would not seek re-election prior to the nomination period opening in order to have more time for his personal and business life. He is leaving town council after four years as mayor and 12 years as councillor. He is the only current member of council not running again in this election.

For the six council spots, councillors Shelley Boutin-Gervais, Doug Laing, Susan McLean Tady and Gordon Yarde are running for re-election. Kirby Arbeau, Ken Chartier, Judy Pruden and Kevin Russell have also joined the race for councillor in the Oct. 26 election.

The candidates have until 4 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 22 to withdraw their nomination.


[email protected]

On twitter: @battlefordsnow

Veteran councillor decides to run again in N.B

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.