ELECTION 2016: Wall wins again: Sask.Party with 3rd straight majority

By CJME News
April 4, 2016 - 11:30pm

ad Wall and the Saskatchewan Party are one step closer to dynasty territory, sweeping to a majority government victory for a third consecutive term.

It was another resounding victory for the Sask. Party leading in five and elected in 44 ridings with 63 per cent of the popular vote.

With three new constituencies for a total of 61, the Sask. Party will come out with 49 seats, which is the same number they held going into the election.

The NDP could potentially pick up an extra two ridings, elected in seven and leading in four for a total of 11 seats. Just before 10 p.m. several urban ridings remained in a tight split in Regina and Saskatoon.

Wall was the first candidate to be officially elected in his home riding of Swift Current by a margin of more than 4,800 votes.

Wall began his victory speech just before 10 p.m. by thanking Cam Broten and the NDP candidates for contesting the election and for making democracy work.

He noted the location of the Sask. Party headquarters in Swift Current, named for Captain John Palliser who originally surveyed the land and came to the conclusion in his report to the crown that “no one should live here and no one should farm here”.

“Maybe it’s fitting tonight that we would mark well that in this province you better be careful when you tell someone that something can’t be done, because something got done in the province of Saskatchewan tonight,” Wall exclaimed to cheers from the crowd.

He thanked his campaign workers, candidates and volunteers along with his parents and his family.

“Even after this third consecutive win, this is not our question tonight. We did not win anything tonight. We have been given an opportunity to serve. An opportunity to serve the people of the province that we love, let us do that in humility and with determination to be worthy of the opportunity that is given,” Wall said. “With determination to keep the promises that we made in this election campaign, as we have kept the promises that we made in previous election campaigns.”

He noted that the Sask. Party did not make a lot of promises because they were not going to get into a "bidding war" with taxpayers’ money.

The Sask. Party campaigned on its record for building the economy, asking voters to “keep Saskatchewan strong”. Highlights of the Sask. Party platform include: increasing spending on highways by $70 million over four years, reducing hospital administration spending to redirect funds to frontline workers, and selling some public liquor stores.

The NDP campaigned on promises to hire more nurses, teachers and educational assistants, scrap Lean in health care facilities and to review all P3 projects underway.


Arm River – Greg Brkich, Sask. Party (first elected in 1999)

Athabasca – Buckley Belanger, NDP (first elected in 1995)

Batoche – Delbert Kirsch, Sask. Party (first elected in 2007)

Biggar- Sask. Valley – Randy Weeks (first elected in 1999)

Cannington – Dan D’Autremont, Sask. Party (first elected in 1991, he was one of the founding members of the Sask. Party and served as Speaker of the House )

Canora-Pelley – Terry Dennis, Sask. Party (newly elected after incumbent and Sask. Party founding member Ken Krawetz retired)

Carrot River Valley – Fred Bradshaw, Sask. Party (first elected in 2007)

Cut Knife-Turtleford – Larry Doke, Sask. Party (first elected in 2011)

Cypress Hills – Douglas Steele (newly elected replacing Wayne Elhard who retired)

Estevan – Likely Lori Carr, Sask. Party (newly elected replacing incumbent Doreen Eagles who retired)

Humboldt-Watrous – Donna Harpauer, Sask. Party (first elected in 1999)

Indian Head-Milestone – Don McMorris, Sask. Party (first elected in 1999)

Kelvington-Wadena – Hugh Nerlien , Sask. Party (newly elected to replace retiring June Draude, who was one of the Sask. Party’s founding members)

Kindersley – Bill Boyd, Sask. Party (first elected in 1991 under PC Party – he was the leader of that party. Then he became one of the founding members of the Sask. Party)

Last Mountain-Touchwood – Glen Hart, Sask. Party (first elected in 1999)

Lloydminster – Colleen Young , Sask. Party (first elected in a by-election in 2014)

Lumsden-Morse  - Lyle Stewart, Sask. Party (first elected in 1999 for the riding formerly known as Thunder Creek)

Martensville-Warman – Nancy Heppner, Sask. Party  (first elected in a by-election in 2007)

Meadow Lake – Jeremy Harrison, Sask. Party (first elected as an MLA 2007, he won a federal election in 2004 at the age of 26. He was the youngest person to ever be elected federally and provincially)

Melfort – Kevin Phillips, Sask. Party (first elected in 2011)

Melville-Saltcoats – Warren Kaeding, Sask. Party (newly elected, he replaces Bob Bjornerud who retired)

Moose Jaw North – Warren Michelson, Sask. Party (first elected in 2007)

Moosomin – Steven Bonk, Sask. Party (newly elected to replace Sask. Party's Don Toth who retired)

Prince Albert-Carlton – Joe Hargraeve, Sask. Party (newly elected he replaces Darryl Hickie for the Sask. Party)

Prince Albert-Northcote - Nicole Rancourt, NDP (newly elected she replaces Victoria Jurgens for the Sask. Party)

Regina Douglas Park – Nicole Sarauer, NDP (newly elected she regains the seat that was lost by the NDP’s Dwaine Lingenfelter in 2011)

Regina Elphinstone Centre – Warren McCall, NDP (first elected in 2003)

Regina Gardiner Park – Gene Makowsky, Sask. Party (first elected in 2011 in the riding previously known as Regina Dewdney)

Regina Rochdale – Laura Ross, Sask. Party (first elected in 2007)

Regina Rosemont – Trent Wotherspoon, NDP (first elected in 2007)

Regina Wascana Plains – Christine Tell, Sask. Party (first elected in 2007)

Rosetown-Elrose – Jim Reiter, Sask. Party (first elected in 2011)

Rosthern-Shellbrook - Scott Moe, Sask. Party (first elected in 2011)

Saskatchewan-Rivers – Nadine Wilson, Sask. Party (first elected in 2007)

Saskatoon Centre – David Forbes, NDP (first elected in 2001)

Saskatoon-Churchill Wildwood – Lisa Lambert, Sask Party (newly elected in a new riding)

Saskatoon Eastview – Corey Tochor, Sask. Party (first elected in 2011)

Saskatoon Northwest – Gordon Wyant, Sask. Party (first elected in a by-election in 2010)

Saskatoon Nutana – Cathy Sproule, NDP (first elected in 2011)

Saskatoon Silverspring-Sutherland – Paul Merriman, Sask. Party (newly elected in a new riding)

Saskatoon Southeast – Don Morgan, Sask. Party (first elected in 2003)

Saskatoon Stonebridge – Bronwyn Eyre, Sask. Party  (newly elected in a new riding)

Saskatoon Willowgrove – Ken Cheveldayoff, Sask. Party (first elected in 2003 in the riding of Saskatoon Silver Springs)

Swift Current – Brad Wall Sask. Party leader (first elected in 1999 became premier in 2007)

The Battlefords – Herb Cox, Sask. Party (first elected in 2011)

Weyburn Big Muddy – Dustin Duncan, Sask. Party (first elected in a by-election in 2006)

Wood River – David Merrit, Sask. Party (newly elected, he was the former president of the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities)

Yorkton – Greg Ottenbreit, Sask. Party

Police find cash, drugs in luggage after passenger makes threat at Saskatoon airport

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.